Scafell Pike

Guys, I’ve finally climbed the highest mountains in Scotland, Wales and England. Whooooop! 

Now, I’ve never been to the Lake District before, which I realise is shocking considering I don’t live far away. However, I managed to rope Matt into spending our first weekend away climbing a mountain. Thankfully, in contrast to Snowdon, it was glorious sunshine in the Lakes. So glorious, we got sunburnt…oops.

We stayed in Braithwaite, in a lovely little B&B called Maple Bank; I’d recommend it if you’re heading that way! The hosts were so lovely and they did a cracking Full English! We arrived around 10 at night, as we’d both had work during the day and got plenty of rest for out hike!

The morning of our hike had arrived, yay – adventure time! Apparently I like a challenge, so I happened to choose the more difficult route up Scafell, the route from Seathwaite. Image may contain: 1 person, smiling, standing, mountain, outdoor and nature If any of you have climbed it, you’ll know just how testing it is. It’s pretty chill at first, walking through green valleys with picturesque streams, until you get to a certain point. As is standard with me, we got a little lost half way up, but I honestly didn’t care because the weather was sooooo nice and there were tonnes of lovely walkers who happily set us on the right track 🙂 We actually ended up reaching the summit of  Broad Crag (accidentally) on our quest to reach Scafell, so technically we climbed two mountains in one day; go team!

Luckily, this time I didn’t suffer from altitude sickness and we made it up and down Scafell in good time, without any scary moments. Now, I mentioned I got sunburnt? It’s a month later and my burn lines are still very much visible. This did not lead to a comfortable post-climb sleep or in fact a comfortable following week… climbing stairs was a challenge and it should’ve been easy after a mountain!

Anyhow, we didn’t let our burns stop us from enjoying the sunshine in Cumbria on our final day, so we treated ourselves to ice creams and a walk around the park in Keswick to finish off the weekend nicely.

Image may contain: 2 people, people smiling, people standing and outdoorI wanted to sleep for the following week, but alas, GLASTONBURY was three days away and I’ll be telling you alllll about that soon!

Laters!

X

Leave a Reply

