Climb every mountain…

Hey dudes!
So I just realised I forgot to tell you that I went on another adventure with some friends back in August. It wasn’t a particularly grand or exotic adventure but an adventure nonetheless. My adventure was to Scotland to climb the UK’s highest mountain: Ben Nevis!

As you may or may not have gathered, I’m not afraid to say yes to a challenge. When my friend Nikki asked me if I’d like to climb a 4,411 ft mountain, of course I said yes. Did I really think about what I was committing to before I agreed? No. But that’s all part of the adventure. I have to be honest and say I did little to no training for this. I am an active person, but that is just because my jobs are active. In terms of making a conscious effort to do exercise, I do not exercise. In hindsight, I probably should have for this, but I felt like wearing in my walking boots whilst doing Roman Drills at work was adequate enough.

There were seven of us on our epic quest up Nevis. The adventure actually began on a five hour car journey from Newcastle, with our designated driver, Matty and Carl; a lad who I’d never met before. Needless to say it was an interesting journey, full of interesting stories; good job I’m not too difficult to get along with. We arrived at our amazing hostel (Corran Bunkhouse – definitely stay here if you’re going!!) and settled in for the night, cracking open a few beers with some board games to entertain ourselves. Then, it was time for a relatively early night before we began our ascent up Big Ben Nevis.
beniWith rucksacks full of spare layers, waterproofs and masses of food, we began our climb. Oh my god, I thought I was going to die after the first 20 minutes. My poor legs. Now I remember why I should’ve trained. It was okay though, and the weather was incredible; crystal clear skies, no cloud, no rain – I actually got sunburnt! We had several snack stops to keep our energy up, pushed each other up the steeper parts, took many photos and motivated eachother through it all. We were mountaineering machines! benn

It took the recommended amount of time of 7 hours in total to go all the way up and down, which I think was pretty good going for us novices. Then, at the end, we went for a dip in the river to cool off 🙂

The weekend was over far too quickly and despite the fact I couldn’t feel my legs for the best part of the next week, it was a pretty epic experience and a great achievement for all of us 🙂 We’re planning to climb Mount Snowdon in April, so I’ll keep you posted on that!!

Laters!

X

Leave a Reply

